WCTA Presents Life Memberships

Each year, the WCTA Board of Directors undertakes a nomination process to recognize and thank individuals for their outstanding achievements and service to the professional sportsturf management industry.  These, our highest level awards, are presented annually at the AGM.  

According to our bylaws, there are a few pre-requisites:

a) Must be retired from membership occupation.
b) Retired past presidents will automatically receive life membership.
c) Must have been a member for at least 10 years (exceptions may be considered relative to service).
d) Must have provided major service to the society, as for example:
     1)  Two or more terms as a director.
     2)  Member of the executive i.e. VP1, VP2, or President.
     3)  Committee work such as research, exhibitors, assist at conferences, assist with field days, etc.
     4)  Provide technical assistance at conferences via panels, topic papers, research  sessions, etc. over a period of time.
e) All nominations shall be approved by the Board of Directors.

On top of our appreciation, life members are granted free member dues and conference registrations for as long as they want them.  While this year’s online conference and AGM were certainly different than usual, we did get the opportunity to recognize the following WCTA members for their industry service:

Mr. Frits Verkerk – Gallagher’s Canyon Golf Course
Mr. Bruce Klaassen – Royal Regina Golf Club
Mr. Keith Strom – Squamish Valley Golf Club
Mr. Dave Pasko – District of North Vancouver
Mr. Dave Woodske – BC Ministry of Agriculture

Last but not least, the Board posthumously honoured Mr. Ernie George, who passed away on November 11, 2020, with a WCTA Lifetime membership

Congratulations and thank you for everything you have done for us!